Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Advanced Search
Main  >  Help & Advice for Sellers  >  Business Resources  >  Google Analytics - Care to Share Results?
Pages: [1] 2  All
Author

Google Analytics - Care to Share Results?

Fairy Cardmaker

« on: January 22, 2011, 11:41:50 pm »

So, we are at the end of 2010.  I thought I would share my Google Analytics (GA) Results and what it means to me in hopes that you will share yours and we can try to figure out with each other where we need to focus in 2011.  I am no GA expert.  (Feel free to correct me if at any point I spew misinformation!)

From what I believe, GA is a trend analysis tool.  I would not put much stock in the face value of the figures, but I would put stock in the trend analysis - meaning, relationships between figures and also how figures change over time.  (See, even for figures that are wrong, if they are consistently wrong in the same way all the time, then the trend of change over time can still be valuable.)

So, here's what I'm looking at and I will compare this to 2011's results as 2011 progresses to see if I am improving my analytics or not.

First, on the dashboard of your iCraft store report, there is a date range in the top right corner.  That date range is a drop down.  Choose the drop down and type in the calendar year range for 2010 and hit apply.

Now you are seeing your stats for 2010.  Here are mine and what they mean to me:

VISITS
Visits: 4,005
Page Views: 8,424
Bounce Rate: 66.62% (people who landed on your shop and immediately left)

Ew - that's an ugly bounce rate.  I can see from my referring traffic that my Project Wonderful ads are definitely bringing me traffic.  However, since my bounce rate is high, maybe it's not the right traffic.  Maybe I'm not reaching the right demographic.

What does this mean?  In 2011, I must bring my bounce rate down by:
- refining my ads - maybe they are not representative of my shop