Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Advanced Search
Main  >  iCraft Community Member Area  >  Member Updates & Newbie Intros  >  New to Crafting In Florida, Using Recycled Objects
Pages: [1]
Author

New to Crafting In Florida, Using Recycled Objects

studioyokai

« on: July 31, 2008, 05:10:42 pm »

Hi! I'm from Florida, and I'm a newbie crafter (not just to this site, but crafting in general). I've only recently gotten into what I like to think of as "scrap-crafting": you know, using bits and pieces of stuff you have laying around to make new stuff? I'm still learning to keep my hands still and all, but I like to think I'll get much, much better as time goes on.

Right now these are my current projects:

Rescuing some old broken balsa wood doll house miniatures I had tried to paint at one time; they've gotten damaged from stuff falling on them or from the cat attacking them or something, with like feet falling off and stuff. Basically, they're those cheap little made-in-China 99 cent doll house furniture stuff you find in the woodworking section at some mainstream craft stores (the ones where 80% of them end up with some asymetrical flaw or something). My hope is to tweak them so they don't look completely cheap or awful anymore, and redo them so they're pretty and, well, intact. (And not asymetrical, heh). Some of them I'm thinking of putting some actual glass in the windows and stuff (they're mostly cabinet/hutch/armoire type things).