Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Advanced Search
Main  >  Help & Advice for Sellers  >  Business Resources  >  What do you use for your accounting records?
Pages: 1
Author

What do you use for your accounting records?

Fairy Cardmaker

« on: November 19, 2012, 10:53:19 pm »

I am a Chartered Accountant, so I know the basics of bookkeeping quite well.  I have been using Excel.  I set it up the same way one would set up manual, paper ledgers (sold in office supply stores).  The only difference in my Excel ledgers versus manual pen & paper ledgers is that Excel will do the sums for me.  I still have to enter every line of data manually, but then I can do all kinds of totals with Excel.  This means I also have a decent handle on how Excel's basic spreadsheet functions work.  (Don't confuse this with Excel spreadsheets designed and sold by others as bookeeping templates.  Those often use "macros" which is a computer language BEYOND me!)

At work, I like Simply Accounting.  I don't like Quickbooks.  I don't *use* either of these programs.  Clients use them but I use them to pull reports and I find Simply Accounting's reports to be far superior to Quickbooks' reports.  That's just personal preference.

I heard of Google... Outright?  Is FREE, cloud computing accounting software.  When I went to look at it, it was designed for the U.S. only.  So, I never tried it out.  In hindsight, I don't need any interfacing with tax forms that Outright (and other programs) boast.  I should have tried it.  Oh well.