Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Advanced Search
Main  >  Help & Advice for Sellers  >  Business Resources  >  Choosing Your Business Name
Pages: 1
Author

Choosing Your Business Name

Fairy Cardmaker

« on: May 30, 2010, 09:42:46 pm »

So, I've been fretting over changing my business name for well over 2 months.  Thus far, no one I have asked has been able to come up with anything.  I've been doing research and I thought I would share with the community.

I found these three articles extremely helpful:

5 Rules for Choosing Buiness Names (my favourite - short but informative)
http://sbinfocanada.about.com/od/startup/a/createbizname.htm

Creating an Effective Business Name (this one has examples)
http://sbinfocanada.about.com/od/startup/a/biznamesf.htm

Tips for Brainstorming a Retail Business Name (this one is a little more detailed and includes an exercise)
http://retail.about.com/od/startingaretailbusiness/a/business_name.htm

My decision is still up in the air, but I think these will be a big help.
PillowThrowDecor

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 03:21:20 am »

I'm glad you are still thinking about it. It does sound that you are going to make the change but just haven't come up with a name... hmmm... I am flat out of ideas.  Think of some appropriate words and run them through Google keywords.

Cheers1
GalleriaLinda

Administrator

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 05:25:29 pm »

FairyCardmaker - have you made any progress with this? Strategically, I would encourage you to figure out where your business will take you in the next 10 years.

The reason I say this is that there are a couple of ways to look at a business name:
  • Name it after yourself - like "Jane Smith Enterprises." Trademark wise, this is a good way to narrow down a name that likely would not conflict with others and is why you see so many businesses named after the owner.